Did I just hear a collective gasp from the internet upon reading this title? Could I ever forget football?

Nope. Not even a little bit.

I tried! I spent most of Sunday repeating the mantra, “If there’s anything I’m not willing to let go of, I’m holding onto it too tightly,” in the hopes of talking myself out of being deeply disturbed at missing the first Sunday of regular season football. It worked on some levels – the logical, practical ones, for instance. The ones that know that there is life outside of the NFL.

But all of the other levels…well, they went down kicking and screaming.

The good news is that I did spend Sunday doing something incredibly cool – floating down the Flathead River in a canoe with Rebecca (host extraordinaire) and Lou (eager canine companion). The water was a gorgeous deep turquoise hue which floated above even lovelier jewel toned rocks. The sky was clear and blue, the mountains snow-capped, the wildlife frequent (including – among heron, bald eagles, and mule deer – more than a few cows). It was a pure and peaceful way to spend a Sunday.

I also ventured out into Missoula, which happens to be the largest town in the area but still has a small town vibe (Montana only houses 1 million people! Crazy!). It was at the Good Food Store in Missoula that I discovered raspberry yogurt raisins and cinnamon dolce chocolate coffee beans, both of which were amazing. (The coffee beans especially so, and if I could explain exactly what cinnamon dulce chocolate coffee beans taste like I would. “Heavenly” is all I can come up with.) The Good Food Store has aisles and aisles of bulk foods, everything from flour to seaweed to trail mix. It was the largest organic/specialty food store I’ve ever been to that wasn’t a chain. Two thumbs up, Good Food Store!

And, of course, I had to visit the local coffee shop, The Break. This place was awesome, and I wish I had pictures to show you (of all of these things) but I didn’t have my camera with me for most of the day which is a huge bummer because the interior of The Break was really cool – a mural of snowy Montana mountains, individual lamps at each table, brick interior, and really great wooden tables and chairs everywhere.

All in all, it really was a perfectly good day. Even if it was (painfully) sans football. The Packers seem to do better when I’m not watching, anyway; 1-0 is a great way to start the season. Go Pack Go!

