In 24 years of life my skin has never strayed far from shades reminiscent of Casper the Friendly Ghost. Thanks to a montage of pasty white heritage and a geographical location that doesn’t see the sun for a third of year I’m essentially guaranteed to stay the same shade of off-white all year round.

You can imagine how odd it is for me and my epidermis that it’s the second half of October…and I’m getting a tan.

This is a brand new experience. A) the tan, b) the timing. New York, particularly western New York, usually gets its first snow in October. If I ever got a tan in October while living in New York it was via sunless tanner for Irish Dancing competitions. Never from the actual sun!

But so it is here in Colorado: gloriously sunny, shorts and t-shirts weather, vitamin D the likes of which my skin has never known. Orange pumpkins and orange skin…who knew the two could coexist in one season?

Now, don’t get me wrong, this has been wonderful. I’m thoroughly enjoying having fun in the sun. But aside from football and my rampant purchasing of any and every autumnal produce item, it doesn’t quite feel like fall.

Until this week.

On Monday, it was cold and rainy. There was a lot of this:

and this:

It was the perfect day for lounging, hot beverage making, magazine reading, and the like. But the real kicker was yesterday. Yesterday, I went for a walk early in the morning to a backdrop of…frost! snow on the mountains! sun peeking through rainbow leaves! visible breath!!! By the time I got back to the house I had Rudolph’s nose and frozen fingers.

It was GLORIOUS.

Cue nauseating but factual cliche: You can take the girl out of the northeast, but you can’t take the northeast out of the girl. October, along with it’s hot apple cider and brilliant leaves and gourds by the barrel, will always signal the beginning of sweater weather, and I’m so glad it finally arrived – if only for a morning – in Colorado.

(Although I wasn’t exactly sulking when I was reading in the sunshine in yoga pants and a t-shirt a few hours later. We’ll file this under “The Best of Both Worlds.”)

