A random and unrelated note to begin with: I paid my first ever visit to Hobby Lobby yesterday. I burst into a million joyous pieces at seeing all of the holiday paraphernalia – Halloween, Thanksgiving, and yes…even Christmas!!! People, as of tomorrow it’s only two months away. TWO MONTHS!!!

But the real meat of this post comes from sharing yet another opportunity to attend a great event while en route around the country. So far I’ve had the chance to go to a reading by Jonathan Safran Foer and a conference led by Donald Miller. And now a third has been added to the list.

This week, I went to an advance movie screening for Forks Over Knives and got to meet one of the men behind the movie, Rip Esselstyn! You may know Rip from his bestselling book, the Engine 2 Diet. Come to find out he was born and raised in Hudson, NY. AND…I ended up chatting with one of the event coordinators who is from Buffalo and her husband who is from this small suburb of Rochester, Pittsford.

Oh, how I miss Pittsford.

Moving on. The movie was really an eye-opener. I’ve been reading about this stuff (the effect of a plant-based diet on health and disease prevention) for awhile, and it just confirmed everything I’ve been learning lately. I was originally a bit of a skeptic of the Engine 2 Diet, but after reading the book (in less than 24 hours) I really think it’s legit. As the 80’s would say, it’s solid as a rock.

Forks Over Knives is scheduled to hit theaters on March 11, 2011. I would highly recommend going to see it! Just to get you ramped up for what’s to come, here’s a sneak peek!

