May 1st is the national decision deadline for high school seniors to make their final college decision.

May 1st, and the days and weeks leading up to it, is one of the most stressful/emotional times in College Admissions Offices the world round.

May 1st Mania can make an admissions counselor raid a vending machine. Or three.

But today, I had a momentary break from May 1st Mania. I called an amazing student who had been working incredibly hard to be accepted and was able to tell her family the wonderful news that she has been accepted. And there were screams. And there were tears. And there was no mania, just joy. And I couldn’t have been happier for anyone, or more thankful to be reminded of the things that matter most.

P.S. – Tune in tomorrow for the next chapter in “Beka Runs? Really?” in which I fill you all in on my next running adventure. It’s a good one!

