It’s no secret that ever since the half-marathon my enthusiasm for running has been waning. It’s challenging to stay positive about something that never really blew your skirt up in the first place, and that you have beaten into the ground over the course of innumerable months and miles. So last night instead of running…I mixed it up.

I took a Zumba class.

No I’m not kidding.

Zumba is an hour long Latin-dance-based workout class. For those of you who know me and can visualize me taking this class: you’re welcome. For those of you who don’t know me, know that the Lord saw fit to give me a double dose of sarcasm and zero coordination. This combination makes me fun to stand next to in Zumba class, but not fun to be behind. And as fate would have it, I would end up in the front row. (The Lord also saw fit to make me equal in size to most ten year olds. Seriously…I met a girl last weekend who is seven and has the same size feet as me. For now. Her feet will eventually grow.)

BUT…I really wasn’t that bad! Really! And it was FUN! Oh my word, it was so much fun. I’m pretty sure my abs are going to fall out in the middle of the night, but it was well worth any ab loss that may befall me. And the fact that it was free – AND that I get a whole week of free classes (apologies in advance, fellow Zumba-goers) – made it even better. Three cheers for another successful round of mixing it up, and four cheers for no running!

