Be forewarned: I’ve made these twice since I’ve gotten home from San Diego, and will probably make them for dinner again tomorrow night.

While in San Diego, Morgan and I ate some of the most amazing food ever to grace my palate. It was spectacular and left me wanting more, especially in the way of tropical fruit/summer meals. I remembered a few Pioneer Woman recipes that I had been itching to try, namely the Grilled Chicken and Pineapple Quesadillas and and the Pineapple Mango Salsa. Since they both sounded too good to pass up I decided…why not make both at the same time?

And so the sentence-long recipe of BBQ Chicken Quesadillas with Pineapple Mango Salsa was born.

Here’s how it went down:

I didn’t have the time patience to actually grill and BBQ a chicken, so I picked up a to-go package of chicken fingers with a side of BBQ sauce from Wegmans. I put the chicken fingers in the oven and went to work on the salsa, which I made with all of the ingredients in PW’s recipe but in smaller portions. When the chicken was nice and crispy I took it out of the oven, diced it up, and mixed it with the BBQ sauce. Then I layered as follows: tortilla, cheese (Monterey Jack), chicken, salsa, cheese, tortilla. I used mini corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas for no other reason than it suited my fancy as I was walking down the aisles of Wegmans. I toasted each side for about 5 minutes in a skillet on medium heat and the end result went a little something like this:

Oh, so good. And even better when concluded with S’mores!

