I am never moving again.

More on that later.

For now, let’s wrap up the Goodbye Rochester posts with everyone’s favorite organizational entity: the list.

And bonus…because I’m feeling full circle-y today…TWO lists! That’s right, what says fun on a Monday better than two lists? (You probably just started listing items that are more fun on a Monday…or any day…but that’s still a list! Oh, lists. You’re inescapable.)

The first list is out of character with the sentiment of the past week’s post, but I think it’s only fair to present both sides. And so, I present to you the Rochester Bottom 5, aka the top 5 things I will not miss about Rochester. In reverse order:

5. 8 Months of Winter

Enough said.

4. The Lack of Plowing in Winter

Now really…if a season takes up 3/4 of the year in your state, shouldn’t you be better equipped to ransack its negative effects? This is the case in the Capital District. This is so not the case in Rochester. Never have I battled through more poorly plowed roads than I have in the past 6 years. People…come on! It’s bad enough to have to unearth clean off the car…but then to slug it out on the highways as well? Is there no rest for the weary?

3. Paying 8 – 10 Cents More for Every Gallon of Gas

Is there a reason why gas needs to be more expensive 4 hours west of here? No. There really isn’t.

2. Lack of Vital Establishments

Throw us a bone, Rochester. If you’re going to be sub-freezing for half the year, the least you can do is give your citizens some comfort in the form of Chick-fil-A. Or Pinkberry. Or Jamba Juice. Or Sheetz. Or even Dairy Queen, for crying out loud! There are DQ’s in Albany, Syracuse, and Buffalo. Get with the program!

1. Worrying About the Structural Integrity of My House

I’ve lost a good number of wits fretting over a) the roof caving in on me, b) the floor giving out on me, and c) the squirrels breaking all the way in and roaming pompously through my domain. Not only do these fears inhabit my waking hours, they’ve also taken up residence in the majority of my dreams. I’ll be happy to no longer wake up in the middle of the night wondering if there really is a squirrel hanging from my ceiling or if it was only a dream.

However, as most of the songs on Christian radio say, there’s always a silver lining. So here’s the list of the top 5 things I’m going to miss about Rochester. In dramatic order once again:

5. Pittsford

We’ve already talked about this, and it’s still true. I already miss Simply Crepes. Someone, please go there in my honor and order something filled with a day’s worth of calories.

4. My Apartment

I know I just dissed my living space in the previous list…but I’m really going to miss my apartment, flaws and all. In fact, we’ve already talked about this a few days ago too and the pain of separation has only worsened since then. However…over the past 24 hours I have completely transformed my bedroom at home and updated it from “I clearly lived here when I was 14” to “Hey…I’m a decade older.” The therapy that comes with being a decade older and still living in this room will come at a later date. But  the big reveal of the renovation will be posted tomorrow! Try to sleep through the anticipation if at all possible.

3. Wegmans

I can barely talk about this. It hurts too much. Luckily, we stopped at Wegmans for lunch on the way home and I enjoyed every last bite of my turkey roll-up and ginormous chocolate chip cookie. That eased some of the pain.

2. Northgate

I love my church. I love, love, love my church. I’ll still listen to the podcasts, but it won’t be quite the same as actually being there. If you are in the Rochester area and are looking for an amazing congregation/great music/lovingly convicting sermons that focus on all the right things, please look no further than Northgate. Go visit! Or at least visit their website!

1. Rochesterians

Not as in the general public of Rochester, but the people I love who live in Rochester. Last week took me by surprise in the best way. It’s no secret that I’m not the most extroverted person on two feet and that I tend to prefer more time to myself than the average Joe. And when I started working in admissions two years ago it was about a thousand times worse. Alone time was the name of my game. But last week…I’m fairly certain I had the most packed social calendar in the Greater Rochester Area. I had multiple plans with multiple people every single day! I was shocked…shocked (ten points to whoever can identify that Friends quote)! I don’t know why this continues to surprise me because it happens all the time, but God always gives me exactly what I need exactly when I need it, even when I don’t realize it’s something I need/someplace I should go/something I should do. He’s provided for SO many wonderful relationships in Rochester over the past few years; I was taken aback last week as I spent time with each person and felt so richly blessed by every one. Thank you to those who made Rochester such a pleasant place to live! I will miss you all so much!!!

As a side note, I’m also going to miss my mouse pad. Because I accidentally threw it away in the move.

And so the Goodbye Rochester series comes to a close. Stay tuned tomorrow for the start of something new (you’re welcome for the High School Musical reference, Morgan): Hello Home week!

(The sermon-series-style blogs conclude next week, I promise.)

(Also, there’s a blackbird convention going on in my backyard. There are literally too many to count. I’m waiting for Alfred Hitchcock to pop out any minute now.)

