If the point of food photography is to make the meal look so beautifully delectable that the viewer either a) drools uncontrollably or b) runs into the kitchen to start cooking…then I’ve failed miserably on both fronts with shot…

But really, try making a dish named a “hand pie” look appealing to someone other than the Donner Party. It’s a challenge. Why name something so delicious a hand pie? Can anyone explain this to me? I did not make this pie in my hand, nor does it contain any part of my hand. The name annoys me because now every time I think of this recipe I think, “Oh, that cannibal thing.” It wouldn’t be my first choice of associations with something so mouth-watering. And it makes me think of Thing from the Addams Family. Another unfortunate association.

Enough about the disturbing name. This pie is filled with roasted sweet potatoes and chicken, which is not at all disturbing. And it’s really, really good. And really, really easy.

1. Find frozen puff pastry that is not make out of chemicals and food-like products. This is the hardest part of the recipe.

2. Thaw one sheet of pastry.

3. Roast a sweet potato (my favorite way is tossed with a clove of minced garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper in a baking dish at 375 for an hour). Mash with milk and butter.

4. Bake or grill some chicken.

5. Preheat over to 400.

6. Cut puff pastry into 4 equal squares. Fill one half with mashed sweet potatoes and chicken, then fold the other section over to form a triangle. Fold the sides in and press with the tines of a fork; brush with one lightly beaten egg.

7. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes, turning half way through.

8. Enjoy! But don’t think about the name too much.

Thanks, Martha, for another stellar recipe. And since you’re the queen of all things kitchen related, please submit a name change for the cannibal pies. It’s only fair to one and all, pie included.

