The floodgates burst open before I hit the end of the driveway yesterday. I cried straight through to Loveland, about 20 minutes away, until I paused momentarily before beginning again.

Those who know me know that I’m not a crier – until it comes to endings and goodbyes. Then all bets are off and I become a human faucet.

Such was the case yesterday when I left a beautiful place and a wonderful family. I was sad to leave Colorado, sad to be back on the open road, and sadder still to leave Rod and Jane, the homeowners, who are some of the best people I’ve ever met. Their kindness, generosity, and encouragement are second to none. And Boots, the cat…don’t even get me started. I’m liable to start bawling all over again.

Little did I know that we would all be reunited again much sooner than expected. When I reached Denver I saw some of the areas I visited and remembered some of the pictures I’d taken…with the camera that I had no recollection of placing in the van…along with my laptop…

Yep. They were back in Fort Collins with my favorite Coloradian family. How I managed to pack dried figs but forgot to bring my most valuable earthly possessions I’ll never know, but it was as good an excuse as any to go back for one more round of goodbye hugs. Followed by another round of water works.

When my vision wasn’t compromised I got to take in some breathtaking farewell scenery.

There was even some snow on the ground in southern Colorado! Always a surefire way to bring out some smiles.

I arrived in New Mexico safe, sound, and spent. More on my arrival tomorrow…what a day.

