Now really…is there any other way to begin a Christmas countdown than with the mother of all Christmas countdown devices, the advent calendar?

I think not.

This year, I decided to make my own advent calendar. Mainly because I saw the scrapbook paper at Michael’s for 69 cents.

I’d say this project was as easy as 1, 2, 3…but it was really as easy as 1 and 1/2.

Step 1: Glue a piece of paper behind the advent paper, preferably something tranquil and Christmasy and not something filled with goblins leftover from Halloween. However, if that floats your boat, go for it.

I went for a snowy background since my fingers will remain crossed for the next 24 days as I fervently wish for a white Christmas.

Step 1 and 1/2: Mount advent calendar on wall.

This is a half step because really…it hardly needs instruction. But just in case anyone was having a “Now what?” moment after Step 1 I figured I’d throw the extra half step in, free of charge.

I decided to go one step further with mine and write something that happens during the day that is emblematic of Christmas on the window of the corresponding day. Today, it was Da Jesus Book. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Da Jesus Book, as I was just a few short weeks ago, it’s the Hawaiian Pidgin translation of the New Testament. My dad does full-time prison ministry so our house is always full of a thousand and four bibles in various translations. This one, however, was a new one for us. Someone gave it to my dad a few months ago and he showed it to me when I got home from the roadtrip. There’s no way to adequately define just how much pleasure I derive from opening up to any page in Da Jesus Book and reading a passage. It’s made my life a happier place.

Knowing how much I loved Da Jesus Book, my dad decided to order one for me for Christmas and gave it to me today as an early present.

Da Jesus Book is Christmas to me for three reasons. First, because it warms my heart. I love it when the Bible is made accessible to more people, especially when that accessibility is due to someone’s love in action.  Second, because Da Jesus Book pulls no punches. It’s the heart of the New Testament. After being exposed to these passages so many times in multiple English translations it’s refreshing to hear them in a new and authentic way. And third…because it makes me crack up. Every single time.

Happy December 1st everyone!!! Bonus question for the Comment Section: What was Christmas for you today?

[[resources]]

Advent 12 x 12 die-cut by We R Memory Keepers

Martha Stewart 12 x 12 Winter Wonderland Designer Pad (Snowy Blue Paper)

Da Jesus Book

(While I was googling the advent paper I found another blog doing a 25 Days of Christmas theme AND doing this project as well! The author has a different fun idea of how to use the paper, check it out here!)

*Addendum: BONUS 25 Days of Christmas feature: A soft snow will be falling on the blog throughout the holiday season. I know. Unbelievably exciting. Thank you, WordPress techies. Thank you so much.

