I understand why Santa makes his list on paper. I really do. It has a certain retro charm. As we all know, I’m a fan of to-do listing myself. In fact, I just made a list of Christmas blog topics (via Vale Design’s beautiful and free printable list here) because I have about a billion and five ideas and may need to start double posting to get them all in by Christmas. The paper list is near and dear to my heart, however, we are living in a technological world. And in a technological world, we have resources like Pintrest.

People: this is not good. I may be unemployed, but I am not entirely devoid of responsibilities. Things like eating and sleeping, for instance. And these responsibilities have been cast to the wayside ever since Pintrest made it’s presence known in my daily internet world. I repeat: this is not good.

Oh, but it is. It’s so, so good that I can’t even stop gushing long enough to tell you what exactly Pintrest is. So I’ll let them fill you in while I compose myself:

What is Pinterest? Pinterest is a social catalog service. Think of it as a virtual pinboard — a place where you can post collections of things you love, and “follow” collections created by people with great taste.

How do I add a pin? You can upload a file using the Add a Pin button in the menu bar. We recommend installing the pinterest bookmarklet (in the yellow bar above). It’s a special button that lets you pin images from any website.

Pintrest is basically a mecca of all things creative, inspiring, and beautiful. And because of this, I make a pilgrimage about once every 10 seconds.

Now, there’s a good chance I may be inordinately excited about this whole thing. It’s entirely within the realm of possibility. But I really don’t think I am! I really think it’s the best thing since Google Reader, in internet terms. And you know how deep my devotion to Reader runs…this is even bigger. Really, I’m practically giddy over here.

You may be wondering, as you should, what all of this has to do with Christmas. Here is where this deal gets EVEN BETTER, as if such a thing were possible. I’ll break it down into two parts:

(Preface: Please note that I am not advocating a Christmas-only use of Pintrest. On the contrary, I believe it should be used for all reasons at all times by all people. Amen.)

1. Need an organizational system to keep track of gift ideas found while surfing the web? Look no further. There’s a strong possibility that someone out there has about 10 different internet pages bookmarked and/or scribbled down on a piece of paper regarding Christmas gifts that they will either forget about or never be able to find. If that person is you: I feel your pain. I’m the same way. But Pintrest has a solution to this problem, and that solution is Gift Boards. You can create a themed Gift Board – such as “Gifts for Mom” or “Ideas for Friends” or “Grab Bag Gifts” – and use the “Pin It” tool to pin a picture of ideas you find on any website to your Gift Board on Pintrest, therefore collecting all of your ideas visually and in one space. Feel free to applaud…I did. (Here’s an example, this one is a “Gift Guide for the Designer Dude.”)

2. No desire to create a Board yourself but still want to benefit from the wealth of ideas on Pintrest? No problem! Just click on the “Gifts” tab on the home page to see a constantly updated list of unique gifts. You can even sort by price! And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

FYI – when I requested to join the site, it took a few days to receive an invite and get things up and running. But don’t let that stop you! If I haven’t beaten this horse completely dead yet, here’s the final blow: Pintrest will change your life and is absolutely worth the wait.

Go forth and pin, my friends. I’m so excited for you.

