I really never wanted to be “The Girl Who Makes Her Own Window Boxes.” Honestly, I didn’t. I tried so hard to run from my inner Martha Stewart, but every time I ran I was chased by ribbons and glitter and scrapbook paper punches and ended up spending the rest of the day making autumnal cards. So I’ve decided not to fight it any longer. I am The Girl Who Makes Her Own Window Boxes.

Whatever.

If you’d like to join the club, here’s how:

1. Collect materials from the 50% off bin at Michaels – which is basically all of their holiday decor right now! Most of this stuff ended up being less than $1.

 

2. Be creative with what’s available! I decided to take apart a large bunch of berries so I could stick them into the garland separately, which ended up making all the difference. Once you pull them apart you can use them individually or twist a few together to make a little bunch.

3. Take everything outside to the box and arrange in order from largest to smallest: garland goes down first, then any branches and/or pine cones, then berries and/or accents.

4. Do this in July. In December you run the risk of losing your fingers to frostbite, a lesson I learned the hard way.

