If you would have told me a few years ago that someday in the future I would spend a weekend speed-visiting as many people as possible in a 24 hour period, I would have said you were plum crazy. Off your rocker. In need of medication. I would have instantly thought of a thousand things that I would rather do – multiple root canals, food poisoning, and babysitting 27 toddlers on a sugar high among them. And if you had included the details – that this was not only something I agreed to but something I initiated…I may have passed out completely.

And yet, that is what transpired over the weekend. I made a quick trip out to Rochester to spend time with some of my favorite people on the planet. I sat down at Leaf and Bean at 10am and had rotating coffee dates until 2pm. This came after spending the night with a BIRTHDAY GIRL in Clifton Springs and before another birthday party-crash in Irondequoit (which I ended up missing because apparently my phone really is out to ruin my life and took me to Greece instead…I’m so sorry, Smash!!!). AND, this was after a week full of breakfast/lunch/dinner/dessert/coffee dates.

People…what is happening to me???

Here’s the deal: I’ve never had extreme monk-like tendencies, but I’ve never been a social butterfly either. A few years ago my ideal weekend consisted of solitude from 5pm on Friday night until 8am on Monday morning. I enjoyed my antisocial weekends. And now…I’m trying to pack the maximum amount of social activity into two days? Who? Me? How?

I don’t know. But I do know the following:

1. Tell God that something in your life will not/can not change. Then watch him go to town.

2. Nouns are more important than verbs.

3. I’m not sure I’ve ever felt more blessed than I did over the weekend. I could have cried at any given moment; my heart literally felt like it was going to burst out of my body. I can’t put into words how much it meant to me to be surrounded by so many treasured friends who were nice enough to give me a piece of their busy pre-Christmas weekends. Between both of my homes – Burnt Hills and Rochester – I have the best friends in the world.

I hope all of you get to spend lots of time with the people you love this weekend. There are few things that are more Christmasy than that!

