“If at some point tomorrow you hear a sound akin to nails on a chalkboard, don’t be alarmed. It’s just me clinging to the remaining minutes of 2009 with all of the strength I can muster. Were I equipped with a homemade cardboard sign and a blow horn, I would stand on the nearest street corner and protest the coming of 2010.”

The above excerpt was taken from last year’s end of the year post. Clearly, I was not eagerly anticipating the year to come. But I was just blinded my steadfast resistance to change. Little did I know, 2010 would be the year of Expecting the Unexpected.

I ran a half-marathon?

I was a wedding photographer? Twice?

I quit my job and drove around the country?

Yes, yes, and yes.

None of these things were on my list of things to do in 2010. I wanted to do things like organize my finances and read more fiction. Perhaps learn how to properly frost a cupcake. I didn’t plan on flying to California or getting a few extra blog readers or moving out of my beloved, squirrel-laden apartment.

2010 reminds me of Ephesians 3, which says that God is able to do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine. This year was documented proof of that fact.

As for 2011, I’m not making any predictions or plans. I’m happy to reminisce about 2010 and am eager to see what 2011 holds. No nails on the chalkboard this time.

