Man, it’s been awhile since we’ve had a good old fashioned food post around here. Which is odd, since I’ve been cooking in volumes that could feed the population of Rhode Island for a year ever since I’ve been home. But the last real recipe post was all the way back in AUGUST! Tomato Feta Tart! Nectarine Upside Down Cake! Summer Food!

Be still my heart.

It’s time to get back on the bandwagon. At first this recipe won’t scream WINTER! but since it makes good use of citrus fruits I believe it can be considered a plausible January meal. And it’s delicious, which is really the only thing that matters anyways.

Yesterday while I contemplated what to make for lunch I had the sudden urge for something of Asian descent. What resulted was quite possibly the best salad I’ve ever made.

The actual salad was quite humble – spinach, grapefruit, and almonds. But the dressing…the dressing made all the difference.

The dressing was composed of the following: leftover grapefruit juice, apple cider vinegar, honey, ginger, scallions, and cilantro – all whisked together into a nice little vinaigrette. I wish I could give you actual measurements…but you know how I roll. There is no such thing as measuring in my kitchen creations. Just trust your instincts. They won’t lead you astray!

Next time I might add a layer of cooked (and cooled) short grain brown rice or quinoa to give it a little more substance, maybe some carrots too. But since I’m so content with the original I doubt I’ll stray too far. I highly recommend giving this salad a whirl, and pronto!

